The Palmetto AmateurExpand/Minimize

Congratulations to Ben Schlottman, winner of the 2015 Palmetto Amateur and the Berry Crain, Jr. Memorial Trophy
2015 Palmetto Amateur winner Ben Schlottman

Ben Schlottman of Advance, North Carolina carded a 4 under par 66 on Saturday to win the 40th annual Palmetto Amateur. Ben just completed his freshman year at Auburn, where he was recognized as the Southeastern Conference freshman player of the year. Billy Kennerly of Alpharetta, Georgia posted the best round of the day, a 65, to finish second,two shots back. Billy recently graduated from Clemson. Dane Burkhart and Sean Kelly tied for third. Dane, winner of the 2005 Palmetto Amateur after carding a final round 59, recently regained his amateur standing. Sean plays for the University of South Carolina.

The Palmetto Amateur has been conducted 40 years. The tournament was originally called the Aiken Golf Classic and then, beginning in 1998, as the Palmetto Amateur. The tournament is held at the historic Palmetto Golf Club, where golf was first played in Aiken, SC, in 1892. Registration for the 2016 Palmetto Amateur is expected to open in February 2016.

Palmetto Golf Club, while not overly long, is still quite challenging. The greens are small and the greens complexes are difficult, requiring accurate placement of approach shots. Putting is also a premium and the subtle MacKenzie contours are difficult to negotiate.

We again expect to receive more applications than can be accommodated and, because of that, the field will be selected based on world amateur rankings and performance in high level amateur tournaments, including USGA Open and Amateur events and previous Palmetto Amateurs. Invitations will be extended to players ranked in the Top 100 on selected lists, as well as former champions and club tournament champions.


Click here to register for the 2015 Palmetto Amateur

Click here to register for the 2015 Qualifying Round on Monday, June 8